Outstanding citizens to receive Alberta's highest honour

Eight outstanding Albertans will become members of the Alberta Order of Excellence this year.  

Alberta Order of Excellence

By honouring their remarkable achievements and steadfast citizenship, their stories and legacy are preserved for future generations.

“The Alberta Order of Excellence is about recognizing those who have made a difference, who have served Albertans with distinction, and whose contributions will stand the test of time.”

Lieutenant Governor Donald S. Ethell, Chancellor of the Alberta Order of Excellence

“I encourage all Albertans to follow the lead of our new members in promoting good citizenship, strong communities, ethical leadership and mentorship.”

Premier Dave Hancock

The new Alberta Order of Excellence members chosen for investiture in 2014 are:

  • Sharon Carry, Calgary
  • Tony Cashman, Edmonton
  • Morris Flewwelling, Red Deer
  • Colin Glassco, Calgary
  • Julia Hamilton, Calgary
  • Willie Littlechild, Maskwacis
  • Fred Mannix, Calgary
  • Reinhard Muhlenfeld, Edmonton

The Lieutenant Governor will preside over the investiture ceremony in Edmonton on Wednesday, October 15.

This will bring the total membership of the Alberta Order of Excellence to 140.

Biographies of the new members will be available closer to the investiture.



Media inquiries