Eight leaders chosen to receive Alberta's highest honour

The Alberta Order of Excellence Council has selected eight outstanding citizens to receive the highest honour the province has to offer. 

The new members will be invested into the Alberta Order of Excellence later this year for their exemplary records of service on the local, provincial, national and international stage.

“These remarkable Albertans were chosen for investiture because they share a powerful commitment to serving the greater good,” said His Honour, Col. (Ret’d) the Honourable Donald S. Ethell. “They have touched the lives of others in countless ways, from comforting those in need, to encouraging more vibrant communities, to fostering growth and positive change. They have earned the heartfelt thanks of their fellow Albertans.”

The new AOE members chosen for investiture in 2012 are Robert Hironaka (Lethbridge), Roger Jackson (Calgary), Irving Kipnes (Edmonton), Griffin Lloyd (Calgary), Preston Manning (Calgary), Ronald Southern (Calgary), Robert Westbury (Edmonton) and Rosaleen Zdunich (Edmonton).

“These new members are tremendous examples of the innovation, vision and strength of character that have served our province well in the past and will continue to move us forward in the years ahead,” said Premier Alison Redford. “Their contributions remind us that we all have a role to play in shaping the quality of life in our communities and our province as a whole.”

The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta serves as Chancellor of the Order. He will preside over the investiture ceremony in Edmonton on Wednesday, October 17. This will bring the total AOE membership to 124.

Full biographies of the new members will be available closer to the investiture. More information about AOE is at www.lieutenantgovernor.ab.ca/aoe/. 

Attachment: Biographical summaries - Albertans chosen for 2012 investiture into the Alberta Order of Excellence


For more information, contact:

Angus Watt
Chair, Alberta Order of Excellence Council

Janet Resta, Communications Officer
Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta



Biographical summaries - Albertans chosen for 2012 investiture into the Alberta Order of Excellence

Dr. Robert Hironaka (Lethbridge)

Robert Hironaka has strengthened multiculturalism in Lethbridge and Alberta with his work to develop the landmark Nikka Yuko Japanese Garden and to foster understanding through cultural exchanges and twinning partnerships between his community and the world. He has also made valuable contributions as Chancellor of the University of Lethbridge and as a respected member of the scientific community in the area of animal nutrition.

Dr. Roger C. Jackson (Calgary)

Roger Jackson is a three time Olympian who earned gold for Canada in rowing at the 1964 Summer Games before going on to help lead the development of amateur sport in general and Canada’s Olympic teams in particular. He has also served as Dean of Physical Education and Kinesiology at the University of Calgary, as founding director of the school’s Sport Medicine Centre and as a dedicated community volunteer in the area of music.

Irving Kipnes (Edmonton)

Irv Kipnes is a business and real estate leader as well as a tireless advocate for many community, health, education and arts endeavours. The long list of initiatives that have benefitted from his steady guidance and support include the Alberta Cancer Foundation, the University Hospital Foundation, the University of Alberta School of Business, the Mazankowski Heart Institute, the Kipnes Center for Veterans and Edmonton arts institutions.

Griffin Lloyd (Calgary)

Griffin Lloyd has been on the front lines in the battle against poverty, hunger and disease in Third World countries through his leadership of the partnerSHIP Society which delivers supplies to people in need around the world. His sterling record of service also includes his contributions as a dedicated volunteer with many social and community support organizations in Calgary. He is a WWII veteran of the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Preston Manning (Calgary)

Preston Manning’s lifelong dedication to public service includes his contributions as founder of the Reform Party and as a Member of Parliament and leader of the Official Opposition. He has worked to champion democratic and political reform and to foster public policy dialogue through his involvement with the Fraser Institute and the Canada West Foundation as well as the Manning Centre for Building Democracy, which he founded in 2005.

Ronald Southern (Calgary)

Ron Southern is an Alberta and Canadian business icon who guided the ATCO Group to its current status as an international leader. He co-founded Calgary’s Spruce Meadows, which has grown into a world-renowned equestrian centre and he has also been a quiet but highly effective philanthropist whose contributions have made an indelible impact on the quality of life enjoyed by his fellow Albertans.

Dr. Robert Westbury (Edmonton)

Bob Westbury has been a tireless volunteer for over 50 years and a respected business community leader. He has particularly focused his attention on serving organizations that foster vibrant communities and those that care for the most vulnerable members of society. The long list includes the Learning Partnership, Kids Kottage, Fringe Theatre Adventures, United Way, the Edmonton Homeless Commission and the Alberta Centre for Child, Family and Community Research.

Sister Rosaleen Zdunich (Edmonton)

Sister Rosaleen Zdunich is an Edmonton and a Canadian pioneer in work to foster strong ecumenical and interfaith connections between diverse people and communities. Her seminal and innovative efforts, as a teacher and with organizations such as the Edmonton Interfaith Centre for Education and Action and the Phoenix Multifaith Society for Harmony, offer powerful models for the growing movement to encourage peace and harmony in our communities and the world.